Year-End Movie Wrap Up

A list like this hardly seems necessary since I saw so few movies this year. But “not necessary” has never stopped me before (click here for the 2008 list). The 2009 Stubbies© go to:

Best Movie that is Pretty Good but I Don’t Need to See it Again Any Time Soon: Avatar. I should probably watch again to see how it holds up now that I know what to expect. Just it’s just so long, I don’t really want to watch again.

Movie that Confused the Heck Out of Me: Observe and Report. Straaaaaange.

Movie that was WAAAAAAAAY Better than it had Any Right to Be: Monsters vs. Aliens. Stephen Colbert playing Axel F FTW.

Movie I’m Embarrassed to Say I liked: Paul Blart: Mall Cop. [bows head in shame]

Movie I Should Have Walked Out of But Didn’t: The Spirit. Didn’t. Get. It. But the person I snuck into it (gasp) with kinda liked it. Go figure.

Most Disappointing: I Love You Man. Jason Segel and Paul Rudd? Yes please! I Love You Man? Bleh.

What Were They Thinking? GI JOE. SUCKED.

Most Overrated: Slum Dog Millionaire. I hate to be a grouch, but it didn’t deserve the best picture Oscar. Jai Ho!

Best Soundtrack: Slum Dog Millionaire. Best part about it.

Worst Soundtrack: Gran Torino. Clint Eastwood. Singing.

Best Use of Seth Rogen: Funny People. It was funny, and he’s a people.

Worst Use of Seth Rogen: Observe and Report. Someone needs his meds…

Outstanding Achievement in a Cameo: It’s got to be Funny People. It’s worth watching anyway, but the cameos are great.

Best Use of FX: Avatar. Curious Case of Benjamin Button has some pretty great FX, but Avatar was mesmerizing.

Best Movie Based on a Book/Toy/previous Movie: Sherlock Holmes. Rip roaring fun. Go see it.

Best Actress: Melanie Laurent (Inglorious Bunnies). Beautiful but deadily. That’s how it always is.

Best Actor: It’s a tie between Christopher Waltz (Inglourious Bunnies) and Robert Downey, Jr. (Sherlock Holmes).

Best Comedy: The Hangover. It’s not anywhere near family friendly, but it’s a very consistent and funny movie.

Best Action-Adventure: Star Trek. It features Simon Pegg!

Best Drama: Inglourious Bunnies. A sub-par Tarantino movie is still an awesome movie.

Longest Movie: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. At 162 minutes, it’s beat out Avatar by four minutes.

Best Animated Movie: Up. It just warms the heart. Even my mom – who absolutely hates cartoons – liked it. And how awesome is Partly Cloudy, the short that precedes it?

Best Movie (My Favorite): I really didn’t have a favorite this year. If you go by the rating I gave each movie, it would be a three-way tie: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Star Trek and Up (they each got 4.5/5). I pick Up.

Congratulations to the winners! I’m sure your mothers are proud!

One response to “Year-End Movie Wrap Up

  1. First – I loved Mall Cop, and I’m not the least bit ashamed about it.

    Second – I didn’t love Up. I really wanted to, as I’d heard so many wonderful things about it … I don’t know. Maybe I need to give it another shot. Or maybe I should just watch Mall Cop.

Leave a Reply

