Dispatch from the Sunshine State #2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After the sunburns and draining humidity of yesterday, today was a day to relax, take a ride down the highway, see some sights and you guessed it, experience some more draining humidity.

I zipped across Central Florida and started the tourist activities at Kennedy Space Center. It really is amazing all that we’ve accompliced when it comes to aerospace. One hundred years ago, we’d barely even left the ground in powered flight. Sixty-something years after the Wright brothers, we’re freaking walking on the moon and zipping around the Earth at 18,000 mph. Incredible.

It was miserably hot and humid (93 degrees/ 76 percent humidity), but it was fun to walk around and just marvel that fate of massive machines and human life relied on computers made in the sixties with less computing power than a Gameboy.My iPhone could probably have controlled every Apollo mission and let me update Facebook and talk to my grandma while it’s doing it. I’m sad to know that the space shuttle program is nearing an end, but it’ll be interesting to see what comes next a few years down the line.

The other cool thing was visiting the Astronaut Hall of Fame. The HoF (not to be confused with The Hoff) is kind of a let down after KSC, but I stumble across the [I don’t know what it’s called] of William Pogue, the astronaut with the record for longest time in space (84 days). He’s also a graduate of Oklahoma Baptist University. I interviewed him seven or eight years ago, so that’s kind of fun.

The only downer was A) it started raining mid tour and B) they kept playing a horrible techno remix of Also Sprach Zarathustra.

From there, it was 15 or so miles to Cocoa Beach. I don’t want to be a party pooper, but I just don’t get the beach. All you readers out there who love the sand and surf: What’s the deal? I mean, yeah, it’s pretty and yeah, I’m glad I took the time to go, but I have no desire to spend a week there. Ron Jon’s Surf Shop was nice and cool though. Plus, offering free parking is a great way to earn my loyalty. I would have totally purchased a surf board, but I have like nine laying around in my basement at home already.

All in all, it was a really fun, relaxing day. Tomorrow is when all the real excitement begins, plus my dad is arriving from Oklahoma.

Leave a Reply

