Leggo my… Lego: Review of ‘The Lego Movie’

ASSEMBLING Feb. 7. I see what you did there.

ASSEMBLING Feb. 7. I see what you did there.

Rated PG, 100 minutes (watched 2/23/14) There’s a twist in the final 15 minutes of The Lego Movie that makes everything perfect. I loved it. If it were at the beginning of the movie, I’d give The Lego Movie 5/5 or maybe even a 6/5. It’s just that for the first hour-and-a-half it was running at a 1 or 2 out of 5. Maybe I was just feeling grouchy that day.

The Lego’s Movie’s plot is way too convoluted and contrived to explain here (we eventually find out there’s a reason for that), but it features goodnatured Emmet, a Lego Minifig worker bee who was born to follow the instructions and build only what they dictate. For reasons that only make any emotional connection after the aforementioned twist, he’s considered key to an underground rebellion of free-spirited Master Builders who just build whatever the heck strikes their fancy. The “bad guy,” Lord Business, is big on instructions, so big that he’s threatening to superglue every thing in the world. It’s a fun riff on individuality vs. conformity, but I’m not sure if the movie’s final moral doesn’t split the two too finely. Somehow I doubt that Lego is going to stop selling predesigned sets with meticulous instructions anytime soon.

The animation is flat out amazing. It’s all CGI, but looks like stop motion Lego magic. The effect is charming and fun. My only gripe here is that things move so quickly I often wasn’t able to fully take in the spectacle in front of me. This is a very ADD movie.

Lego’s voice work is great too, starring Chris Pratt (Emmet) and Will Ferrell as the bad guy (Lord Business). Also thrown in for a pop culture buffet of pretty much any movie star you can name is: Will Arnett (Batman), Elizabeth Banks (the female lead, Wyldstyle), Alison Brie, Anthony Daniels (actual original voice of C-3PO), Will Forte, Dave Franco, Morgan Freeman, Liam Neeson, Shaquille O’Neal (!), Channing Tatum and Billy Dee Williams. Those are just the ones I can remember/identify.

You might think I’ve just lost touch with my inner child, but remember that you’re talking to a guy who had four of these for lunch last week. The twist is the key here. I saw some of it coming, but I don’t see how anyone could fully guess it in its entirety. Knowing what I know now, I could probably rewatch it and love every second. In fact, I almost think you should know the twist going in. Read the spoiler a little ways down if you want. photo-2 All that’s wonderful, but what’s the movie’s grade? I’m in a hurry here, buddy.
Ughhhhhhhhh. 3/5. I’d probably give it a 4/5 on a second viewing, now that I know everything.

Where do I know that guy from?
Megan agonized on the car ride home over where she’d seen Jadon Sands, the kid from the end of the movie. About halfway there she shouted “THAT’S IT! SHINY TRINKET MANEUVER!” She somehow remembered his face (more likely, his hair) from a very tiny part in a 2012 episode of The Big Bang Theory. That’s how eidetic and encyclopedic her BBT knowledge is. He’s the bushy-haired kid in the grey hoodie in this clip:

What is the star’s spirit animal?
This.

What color socks are you wearing right now?
None. Scandalous!

Spoiler alert!
Highlight the text to read:
The whole movie has been the imaginative play of a real (non-animated) boy. Lord Business and “Krakle” don’t just represent a vague, abstract inclination to follow the instructions, they are the literal actions of the boy’s father, played by a non-animated Will Ferrell. The “man up stairs” is literally a man upstairs. All of this may have been the most obvious thing in the world to the people who loved it the first time through (the vast majority of the population it appears), but I somehow missed it. Knowing and seeing the root of the two philosophies totally changed the movie. 

Megan’s Take:
She pretty much agreed with me. 2.75/5. Last 15 minutes was a 5/5.

Heard any good jokes lately?
Why did the cowboy adopt a dachshund?
To get a long little doggie!

Snacks eaten:
I’ve forgotten, but I’m guessing the standard: Diet Pepsi, a regular Pepsi, a large popcorn with M&Ms mixed in.

Unrelated Word of the Day:
Malversation mal-ver-SAY-shun noun: 1. misbehavior and especially corruption in an office, trust, or commission. 2. corrupt administration

Would the movie have been any better with the addition of Morgan Freeman as narrator?
Meh.

One response to “Leggo my… Lego: Review of ‘The Lego Movie’

  1. Pingback: Hooked on a Feeling: Review of “Guardians of the Galaxy” | BK at the Movies

Leave a Reply

